Fisionomie Lariane is an exploration of the territory, an inventory of architectures and landscapes, an archive of art photography, a collection of drawings, a collection of itineraries, a permanent exhibition, a web platform.
Fisionomie Lariane presents an inventory of key cases and is intended as a tool for architects, citizens and tourists interested in understanding the territory of Lario through these places. By providing a selection of exemplary architectures, natural and artificial landscapes, we seek to define physical and ideal paths for linking well-known places with forgotten ones, places of identity with those that are more anonymous.
Fisionomie Lariane does not seek to be exhaustive, but rather to exemplify the potential of this territory in its current state. In this respect the research group has drawn on contributions from experts in philosophy, urban planning and the history of architecture.
Fisionomie Lariane interprets the territory as a set of signs, natural or man-made, that enable us to recognize a place. For this reading, it uses four categories – Water, Traces, Settlements, Activities – giving rise to four distinct viewpoints which, in their contents and editorial terms, can be enjoyed independently or integrated to unveil the complex stratification of the Larian territory, from the landscape to the infrastructures, from the forms of dwelling to the architectures that have developed in it.
Fisionomie Lariane treats each category with different languages and techniques of representation, recognizing drawing as an instrument for reading the territory, while it has also created a photo archive of the Province of Como based on the subjective and unique vision of each professional photographer involved in the research.
Fisionomie Lariane is an open-ended research project to develop new transversal views of the territory.
Fisionomie Lariane is a project designed and curated by the Culture Committee of the Order of the Architects of the Province of Como in Italy.

Curated and coordinated by
Stefano Larotonda
Niccolò Nessi

Scientific Committee
Antonio Albertini
Tommaso Arnaboldi
Chiara Brenna
Giacomo Brenna
Nicoletta Brenna
Anna Brusa
Chiara Cattarini
Stefano Ceresa
Lorenza Ceruti
Matteo Clerici
Antonella Impellizzieri
Stefano Larotonda
Maria Eleonora Maccari
Roberta Marelli
Andrea Molteni
Niccolò Nessi
Michele Pierpaoli
Maritza Prosdocimi
Vincenzo Tuccillo

Marco Cappelletti
Stefano Graziani
Walter Mair
Sara Ruggeri
Isabelle Sassi Farìas
Giovanna Silva
Donatella Simonetti
Filippo Simonetti
Jacopo Valentini
Edoardo Valle

Andrea Tregnago

Accademia di Belle Arti
Aldo Galli – IED Network
Pietro Cisani
Evelina Maralla
Juna Primerano

Fabio Cani

Richard Sadleir

Graphic Design
Marina Barbieri

We would like to thank all the people, experts, companies and organizations that have contributed to this important work with the OAPPC Como Cultural Commission.